Catharsis

This is not a story, nor an essay. And obviously it isn’t poetry either. I reckon its more like a diary entry? I’m not sure. Whatever it is, it is important enough for me to want to shout it out to the world.

There’s this boy in our class whom everyone treats as the class clown. I suppose he likes it, because most of the time he plays along. Its rather amazing how thick skinned he is, because I’m not sure I’d have been able to handle that many jabs if I were him.

Then a few days ago, he told me he was feeling down in the dumps. He felt like there wasn’t any point in working hard because he never seemed to get the results he’d wanted.

Hearing him say that made me feel shitty, because more than once I’d been an accomplice to his ‘class-idiot’ act. Even more, I didn’t know what I could do to help. I told him the usual stuff- Everyone feels this way and Just don’t think about it and Go do the stuff you like instead of moping around. Those words sounded hollow even to my ears.

That night, I couldn’t sleep. I know I’d wished for someone to do more than just give me ‘words of wisdom’ when I was feeling sad and depressed. I’d fantasized about a prince (or a queen- I’m not picky) swooping down on a unicorn to save me, but then reality hit me really hard across the face and I grudgingly picked up the pieces by myself.

I knew I was no prince, but I wanted to do something special. The guy liked detective stories and solving puzzles so I figured, hey! Why not a treasure hunt? 

photo 3 (1)

So I got together with my bestie and we decided on some clues and the places to leave them. The end treasure was to be a little plushie I’d made.

Now I wasn’t very good at sewing. At all. But I’d always had this ‘thing’ where I preferred to give hand-made gifts to people I love. Similarly such gifts were my favourite to receive as well. I hadn’t thought to question the logic behind it until a person I’d held close to my heart told me he’d gotten rid of them after a fight we’d had. If it was something store-bought, I’d probably have been okay with it, maybe even laughed it off. But it was something I’d put love and effort into. I felt like it was me who got thrown away.

And when detective boy rang me up to let me know that another friend was joining us for the supposed library visit (the treasure hunt part was a surprise) I got to work on making another one. But then I spent the whole night worrying if they’d like it. If they’d understand the significance I placed on it. I even entertained the idea of saying “eff it!”  and going with something store-bought. But in the end, the plushies came with me.

photo 2 (2)

My bestie and I ended up having to rush to get the clues hidden in the right places on time.

When we finally broke the news about the treasure hunt, one guy was all for it and the other was trying very very hard to appear disinterested. They ended up deciding to play, which was good for them because we were tired and sweaty and ready to murder them if they dared to say no.

photo 3

(Of course we followed them 😉 )

Needless to say, it was a lot of fun. It was a very hot day and our clothes were sticking to our backs, but the place we’d picked was so beautiful. The Trivandrum Museum is often taken for granted because of how often we city folk visit, but every time I step into it I find something new and endearing.

photo 5

photo 1

(Sorry :/ I didn’t have my camera with me so I had to take the pictures via my phone)

All in all, it was a wonderful day. They seemed happy with their ‘treasures’, but I decided not to lay stress on whether or not it brought tears to their eyes. What matters is that they are two people I love very much, and I’d done my best to put those feelings across to them. And we’d managed to put smiles on their faces, no matter how momentary it was.

Again, I know that this is not my normal style. I also apologize for its length. But today was a special day for me and what better way to celebrate it than to put it all on the internet for strangers to judge? 😉

I hope each and every one of you have wonderful days ahead. Don’t forget to spread joy wherever you go! 🙂 (Except to those ever-present horrid people whom you hate with a passion. Eff them.)

Thanks for reading! ^ ^

6 thoughts on “Catharsis

  1. Vocal Pendulum says:

    That is a very very sweet gesture. I am sure they must have felt special. And I believe that they will find the memory of you doing something downright adorable even more endearing a couple of years down the lane. I loved handmade gifts when I received them but I treasure it more dearly now that most people have drifted apart with time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

