Perspective

 

Perspective one

There is a boy in our class whom nobody likes. He’s not the poor kid who is hated for absolutely no fault of his own; rather, he invites it.

I can think of many reasons why he deserves such animosity.

He always sits by the window and refuses to open it when people ask him to. He reacts coldly to anyone who is sweet enough to extend him an offer of friendship. One time, I had to stay behind at school for club activities and I happened to see him with another person. He was pretty aggressively bullying the poor kid and kept up his threatening tone until the victim fell to his knees and apologized. I know I should’ve reported the bullying, but I was too scared of becoming his next target.

He is so bony that he looks almost malnourished. It’s no wonder he has to copy off other people in order to ‘maintain’ his ‘good grades’. The teachers all seem to like him as well. Just goes to show how adults are unable to see past the false images kids put up for them.

His eyes are totally black and scary. He once glared at me when I accidentally spilt juice on his desk and I felt like there was enough anger hidden in those eyes to burn me alive. I offered to clean up the mess, but he acted as if he hadn’t heard me and started wiping by himself. When I left, feeling insulted, I could feel his glare scorching my back.

He never stays for participating in club activities. People say that the reason he’s always so hasty to leave after school is because he meets his dealer then. I remember feeling no surprise when I heard that. He did look like the kind who’d die by overdosing on that junk.

I just wish we’d never have had to have such a member in our class. You know, if he ends up dying today or tomorrow, I can’t truthfully say that I’d feel sad. I’m keen on avoiding him for the rest of my life.

**************************************

Perspective two

There is a boy in our class who is always alone. It’s so amazing how comfortable he is in his own company- almost enviably so.

But I can’t help but feel like it leads to many misconceptions.

Many people are irritated by how he refuses to open the windows next to his seat, but I see the sickly girl who sits next to him pass him a smile every time he does so. People are also offended by how he doesn’t react positively to offers of friendship, but he’s too shy to keep up with their boisterous ways. One time, I had to stay behind at school for club activities and I happened to see him with another person. He was confronting the bully no one ever bothered standing up to and in spite of being visibly frightened himself, kept up the threatening act until the guy apologized and promised to never do it again. I knew I should’ve told more people about his heroism, but he didn’t seem the sort to like publicity.

He’s rather on the lean and thin side. It’s a wonder how he keeps up his position at the top of the class. The teachers all seem to like him as well. I’m glad that at least the adults can see past his shyness and see his good heart.

His eyes are a beautiful pitch black. One time I accidentally spilt some juice on his desk, and he looked at me in an almost irritated manner. I offered to clean up the mess, but he didn’t hear me and started wiping by himself. Without another word, I joined in and though he was initially surprised, he welcomed the gesture with a warm smile.

He never stays for participating in club activities. He is always in a hurry to leave because he has to pick up his little sister after school. I remember feeling no surprise when I heard that. He did seem like the responsible kind.

I’m almost glad that there’s such a vibrant person in my school. It’s grown to a point that I can feel his absence even if he misses just an hour of class. I think I’d pick up my courage and go talk to him tomorrow.

 

************************************************

Author’s note-

Isn’t it amazing how different a person looks when seen from different eyes? It just goes to show that sometimes, we can’t even trust our own two eyes. 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Perspective

Leave a Reply

